Skip to content
01274 505697

The squad for Englands Six Nations opener!

Today the England squad has been selected for their six nations opener against Ireland. A game which is set to be a clash between two of the best rugby teams in the world. Eddie Jones, England mens head coach, has named a 35 man squad ahead of their clash with Ireland, with co-captain Dylan Hartley out injured and Danny Care not selected.

Jones has picked a 35 man squad to prepare for the game which is on the 2nd of February. The game is the opener to this years Guinness Six nations competition. The competition has 6 teams which include England, Ireland, Wales, Scotland, France and Italy. The game between England and Ireland is said to be a ‘brutal contest’ according to Eddie Jones. It is a game between two teams striving to become the World Number 1 at the up-coming Rugby World Cup in Japan later this year.

The Squad that has been named includes many recognisable players from previous years, but it also has some new faces included. The squad is listed below.

Jack Clifford (Harlequins), Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers), Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs), Tom Curry (Sale Sharks), Ben Earl (Saracens) *, Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers), Jamie George (Saracens), Nathan Hughes (Wasps), Maro Itoje (Saracens), George Kruis (Saracens), Joe Launchbury (Wasps), Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints), Ben Moon (Exeter Chiefs), Brad Shields (Wasps), Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins), Jack Singleton (Worcester Warriors) *, Billy Vunipola (Saracens), Mako Vunipola (Saracens), Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs), Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons)

Chris Ashton (Sale Sharks), Mike Brown (Harlequins), Joe Cokanasiga (Bath Rugby), Elliot Daly (Wasps), Ollie Devoto (Exeter Chiefs), Owen Farrell (Saracens) captain, George Ford (Leicester Tigers), Jonny May (Leicester Tigers), Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs), Dan Robson (Wasps) *, Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs), Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors), Ollie Thorley (Gloucester Rugby) *, Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers), Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers).

The * shows players who are un-capped.

The 35 man squad doesn’t include some regular starters in the England squad due to injury. These players are,
Piers Francis (Northampton Saints), Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints), Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby), Chris Robshaw (Harlequins), Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby) and Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby). Last years co-captain Dylan Hartley isn’t included due to a knee injury.

Back To Top